2018 Special Senior Athletic Awards

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Congratulations to the following graduates of the Class of 2018 on being named recipients of these special athletic awards:

Br. Kevin Gilhooly Athlete of the Year Award: Bryce Bush

Presented to a student-athlete who has excelled in one or more sports.

Bryce Bush

Bryce Bush will leave De La Salle as one of the greatest to ever grace the diamond. As a sophomore, Bryce helped lead the Pilots to the 2016 MHSAA Division 1 state championship. He has already surpassed the DLS single season (19 in 2017) and career (25) home run record marks as well as the single season batting average record (.541 in 2017). Bryce will most likely be named to multiple all-state teams and to the Michigan Dream Team for the second-year in a row. Bryce was a MHSBCA “Mr. Baseball” finalist last season and should repeat that again this year while playing at a different position (SS). He was named the 2017 Michigan Player of the Year and was a Perfect Game and Collegiate Baseball All-American in 2017. This year he was a pre-season all-american as determined by Collegiate Baseball. This year, he is a finalist for the Gatorade National Player of the Year. He has signed a national letter of intent to play baseball at Mississippi State University and is expected to be selected in this summer’s MLB draft.

Tony DeSantis Man of the Year Award: Jared Larue

Presented to a student athlete who is an all-around student, and who has worked hard in and out of the classroom.

Jared La Rue

In addition to serving as senior class president, Jared La Rue has been a standout performer and two-sport varsity letter winner in ice hockey and lacrosse. To give you an idea of his makeup, La Rue has earned the “Hustle” award in hockey and the “Workhorse” award in lacrosse. Jared was a member of the 2017 MHSAA State Championship hockey team in 2017. As a junior La Rue helped the Pilots varsity lacrosse team to a MHSAA Regional Championship. Jared La Rue combines tremendous leadership, high academic achievement and athletic excellence with genuine compassion for his De La Salle brothers to make him a natural selection for the Tony De Santis Award. La Raue will play ACHA hockey at Northwood University

Brother Robert Carnaghi Lasallian Spirit Award: Tom Maxey

Present to a student who is a dedicated supporter of his fellow Pilots.

Tom Maxey

Tom Maxey has a reputation for being one of the most zealous supporters of Pilots Athletics. Whether it’s at a football game, at any basketball game, or in his role as a team manager for the varsity ice hockey team, Maxey always shows full support for his classmates and fellow Pilots. Administration leaned on Maxey to help provide a strong, sportsmanlike example for everyone at contests.

DLS Scholar Athlete Award: Adam Ross

Presented to a student-athlete who has excelled in the classroom and in his sport.

Adam Ross

With a near-perfect GPA, Adam Ross combined unsurpassed academic achievement with athletic prowess as a varsity tennis student-athlete for head Coach Jake Jones. Ross was one of just four seniors on the varsity squad in 2017 and earned CHSL all-league honors. Ross also helped the Pilots to a 2nd place MHSAA Regional finish and a trip to the MHSAA Finals.

DLS Distinguished Athlete Award:  Zach Milke and Luke Pfromm

Presented to a student athlete who has excelled in his sport.

Zach Milke

Zach Milke will be remembered as one of the most accomplished swimmers in De La Salle history. This four-time letter winner helped the Pilots to a 4th-place finish at the MHSAA Div. 2 championship with one of the most thrilling finishes in school history. As the anchor leg of the 400 freestyle relay team, Zach entered the water with nearly a three-body length disadvantage only to overtake the field to claim a state championship in the event. Although difficult to number his accomplishments, Zach is a nine-time all-Macomb County athlete and a five-time Macomb County Dream Team selection. After winning the DLS  “Tough Guy” and “Coaches Award” as a freshman and sophomore, respectively, it was clear Milke was a budding star. Zach became a CHSL All-Catholic performer eight times and is also an 8-time All-State swimmer. Milke’s prowess was not limited to the pool as he was all named to the All-State Academic team by MISCA in his sophomore, junior and senior seasons. Recently, Zach also earned Academic All-America honors. He has earned NISCA All-American consideration three times in the 200 freestyle, 500 freestyle and 400 freestyle relay. In addition to helping the Pilots to the MHSAA Div. 2 runner-up trophy, Milke broke an amazing six De La Salle school records during his time at the Collegiate. As a junior, he captured the 500 freestyle records and as a senior, he set school marks in the 500 free again as well as being part of both the 200 freestyle relay and 400 freestyle relay teams.

Luke Pfromm

Luke Pfromm has proven to be one of the finest two-sport athletes in De La Salle’s recent history. A standout in basketball, Pfromm was twice named CHSL all-Catholic and helped lead the Pilots to four-straight MHSAA District titles as the team’s leading scorer in his junior and senior seasons. The power forward was named 1st-team all-Macomb County as a senior and helped the Pilots to a MHSAA Regional title and a spot at the Breslin in the Class A Final Four. As the starter at quarterback for the Pilots in the fall, Pfromm enjoyed one of the most prolific seasons at the position in DLS history. Not only did the Pilots win the Prep Bowl Championship, but with Pfromm under center, DLS won the district, regional and the school’s second MHSAA Division 2 state championship and a 12-2 record. Pfromm was named CHSL all-Catholic and all-state by the Detroit News. Pfromm set records for most passing yds in a season (1,811) and most passing yds in a game (325 vs. Catholic Central in the Prep Bowl). Pfromm signed a national letter of intent to play football at Wayne State University.

Coaches and staff members nominate young men for each award; a committee of administrators, staff, and coaches then reviews the nominations.

Comments are closed.