Annual MLK Essay Contest Winners

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Congratulations to the winners of the 2018 Martin Luther King Essay Contest. 

The top three were junior Ryan Beginin, senior Ben Iacona, and junior Nino Minniti. Each received $100. 

DLS President John M. Knight, students Ryan Beginin, Ben Iacona, and Nino Minnitti, and Counselor Dominic Reid.

Also in the top ten were: 

  • Joey Schaeffer- Junior
  • Ryan Drake-Sophomore
  • Lemmy Lin- Junior
  • Justin Huttenlocher- Junior
  • Nicholas Redmond- Senior
  • Michael Jones- Senior
  • Jarod Amparo- Sophomore

This is the fourth year that DLS has participated in this national event. The 2018 Essay Contest theme was: Fifty years ago, Dr. King delivered his famous “I Have A Dream Speech.” What would it take to make Dr. Martin Luther King’s dream a reality today?

Essays will be judged on creativity, clarity, content, coherence and adherence to theme.

The DLS Student Diversity Leaders group is moderated by DLS Counselor Mr. Dominic Reid. 

Earlier this year, the group sponsored Anti-Bullying events in October, and during March are recognizing Women’s History Month. 

Comments are closed.