Close Trigger

Main Navigation

Give & Apply

Mobile Portals

Seniors Honored With Athletic Awards at 2022 Graduation

Congratulations to these graduates, honored at the Class of 2022 Graduation ceremonies on May 21, 2022, for their achievements in athletics and more. 

  • Max Swiatkowski: Distinguished Athlete Award
  • Dominic Ragona: Scholar-Athlete Award
  • Josh Weiss: Brother Robert Carnaghi Lasallian Spirit Award
  • A.J. Whitehead: Tony DeSantis Man of the Year Award
  • Will Beesley: Brother Kevin Gilhooly Athlete of the Year Award
  • DeNiro Johnson: Brother Kevin Gilhooly Athlete of the Year Award

Max Swiatkowski, who will be swimming at Northern Michigan University, was a four-year swimmer. Max was the team captain and was described as a team leader all four years. He was a four-time state qualifier, three-time All State, three-time All-Catholic, six-time All-County, three-time County Champion, and three-time County Dream Team. He also earned Academic All-American and All-State Honors. Max carried a 3.89 GPA. 

Dominic Ragona, the Valedictorian of the Class of 2022, with a 4.534 GPA, will be attending Loyola of Chicago. Dominic lettered in both varsity football and varsity wrestling. 

Josh Weiss was a member of the lacrosse team and the first “Captain Spirit” mascot. He carried a 4.217 GPA, and will be attending Michigan State University, and plans to major in psychology. 

Alton “AJ” Whitehead was a member of the state champion football team (2021) and basketball team (2022). He is headed to Michigan State University. 

Will Beesley will be attending and playing football at Princeton. He carried a 3.443 GPA. 

DeNiro Johnson was a three-sport athlete: football, diving, and track. Deniro will be attending the University of St. Francis in Fort Wayne, IN. 

About the awards: 
Distinguished Athlete Award: awarded to a senior who has distinguished himself in his chosen sport(s) either as an athlete or as a tremendous representative of what De La Salle Collegiate represents.

Scholar-Athlete Award: Earned by a varsity letter-winning senior who best combines athletic and academic achievement. 

Brother Robert Carnaghi Lasallian Spirit Award: Established in 1994, the Brother Robert Carnaghi award pays honor and distinction to a student who leaves an indelible mark on his class and the school through his selfless support of De La Salle and the athletic program. 

Tony DeSantis Man of the Year Award: Named for the legendar De La Salle alumnus (1960) math teacher and football coach, the award winner epitomizes the love and care Coach DeSantis had for all students at De La Salle through involvement in athletics, academics, and activities. 

Brother Kevin Gilhooly Athlete of the Year Award: Named for Brother Kevin Gilhooly, the visionary leader who transition De La Salle from its Detroit home to the current location in Warren in 1982. This award, in his honor, is earned by the most outstanding athlete(s) in the senior class.

  • Academics
  • Athletics
  • Football
  • General News
  • Lacrosse
  • News
  • Swimming & Diving
  • Track & Field
  • Wrestling