DLS twins receive Bates Scholarship

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

WARREN, Mich. (March 14, 2019) – De La Salle Collegiate’s Derek and Scott Roskopp were among 20 area high school seniors honored at the 13th annual Ted Bates Memorial Scholarship Awards on Wednesday.

The college-bound students each received $500 grants, proceeds from the annual Ted Bates Memorial Community Service Scholarship Golf Classic held annually in September. Students who received the scholarships met the requirements for the Community Service Scholarship through their many hours of volunteering their time and talent to others.

Ted Bates was a former mayor of Warren, who served from 1967-81.

Besides De La Salle, 37th District Court Judge Matthew Sabaugh distributed scholarships to students from nine other high schools, including Bishop Foley, Cousino, Mott, Fitzgerald, Woods Tower, Center Line, Lincoln, Macomb Christian and Regina. Judge Sabaugh also presented special scholarships to St. Francis Camp on the Lake for two Warren area developmentally-disabled individuals.

Derek Roskopp (left) and his twin brother Scott Roskopp, each received a Ted Bates Memorial Scholarship Award.

Derek Roskopp (left) and his twin brother Scott Roskopp, each received a Ted Bates Memorial Scholarship Award.

The scholarships and event were sponsored by DeCarlo’s Banquet Center, the Warren Rotary Club, the Warren Kiwanis Club, Sancho Caravan Order of Alhambra and the Warren Lions Club.

The Roskopp twins, who attended Mt. Clemens St. Mary Catholic School, have been outstanding student athletes during their four years at De La Salle. Each plays baseball and were key contributors in the Pilots’ back-to-back Division 2 state football championships.

2019 – Derek Roskopp; Scott Roskopp
2018 – Emmanuel Meram; Adam Ross
2017 – Tyler Corless; Joshua Vaillancourt
2016 – Kevin Jones; Austin Piontkowski
2015 – Carson Berlin; Jay LaBara
2014 – Jeffrey Paglia; Ryan Armbruster
2013 – Matthew Kler; Kyle Anderson
2012 – Gary George II; Joshua Agby
2011 – Christopher Davis; John Keith
2009 – Killian Smith
2008 – Steven Carnaghi


Comments are closed.