Two Pilots advance to International DECA finals

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

WARREN, Mich. (March 11, 2019) — Two students – Dominic Balice and Vince Motowski – will represent De La Salle Colegiate in late April at the International DECA (Distributive Education Clubs of America) competition in Orlando, Fla.

Balice and Motowski were members of a 21-student contingent representing De La Salle at last weekend’s state DECA competition at Detroit’s Cobo Center. Business teachers Aarran Meier and Dennis Koch accompanied the students.

De La Salle has qualified students since 2015, the first year DECA was offered as a school activity. This year, students qualified in 12 categories, from hospital and tourism to entrepreneurship and food service.

A senior, Balice won a role play medal, was a state finalist, and a state champion in the Entrepreneurship event. 

Motowski, a sophomore, earned a spot at the DECA Career Leadership Academy, held concurrently with the International competition. He submitted an essay, along with teacher recommendations, for the Leadership Academy, which provides training in leading and growing high school DECA chapters. Motowski also qualified for the International competition last year.

Additional finalists earning medals were junior Jared Amparo (business management), seniors Dino Bucci and Eliot Koehn (travel and tourism team decision making), senior Evan Ferry (food marketing), and senior Conner Popa (franchise business plan). Junior Andrew Raphtis earned a medal for his high test scores in food service management. Amparo, Balice, Popa, and Raphtis are also in the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme, and are taking the IB Business class.

“These students are very dedicated,” Meier said. “All are involved in numerous extracurricular activities and bring the same level of excellence to DECA.”

De La Salle students participated in the January District qualifying competition at Lake Orion High School. Also qualifying for the state competition were Nick Brillati, Noah Cole, Drew Cummins, Jack Henderson, Steven Klein, Matthew Komorowski, Athan Konon, Ryan Kosalski, Tommy Landa, Thomas Marsh, Antonino Picciurro, Brandon Ross, Robert Smith, and Josh Warminski.


Dominic Balice

Comments are closed.